On My Writing & My Blog


Shake It Out
Shake It Out (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been told for years and by many that I have talent, a natural flow and the capacity to make one both laugh and then cry all within a paragraph. Well, I ask myself, where the hell are you, oh great one? I do my best writing in the late night/early morning hours; I rarely think but rather write in a more stream-of-consciousness manner.I also avoid editing when at all possible as it seems editing triggers over thinking, over thinking followed by changes that eventually result a piece that is no longer what I began with..and that is frustrating & bewildering to me. I know that not editing is not a common teaching, but writing is a craft in which, I believe, the writer is best left to instinct and experience. For me, my first instincts always seem to spawn my best work.Of course, all of this is based on my full acceptance of the concept that I have an innate talent which I should practice and not hide away in journals. I am not fully convinced yet. I am a harsh critic when my work is exposed to others,as though it goes horribly awry upon leaving my private little page. When I started my blog, I resolved to write at least 3 times a week. So far I’ve accomplished 4 (not counting the 5th and inflammatory to some close to me) in a month. This will make 6 & I feel good about that.

It seems that each time I am on the verge of a good topic or an idea is brewing, something bizarre occurs. The first time was the sudden death of a friend. This week it was a home invasion. Is the Universe sending me a message or a topic?

POINT of VIEWS @ SCHIPHOL AIRPORT : Amsterdam ...
POINT of VIEWS @ SCHIPHOL AIRPORT : Amsterdam : The Netherlands : Experience MORE, Feel MORE, Explore MORE, Fly MORE! WORLD : SENSE : Enjoy! 🙂 (Photo credit: || UggBoy♥UggGirl || PHOTO || WORLD || TRAVEL ||)

Someone whom I love dearly & tease unmercifully about being pompous in his critiques did give me some sage advice: a good piece is one in which the reader is left to turn it upside down and shake out that which is hidden among the prose. This is what keeps the reader turning the page; keeps the interest going and allows the reader to find the unwritten but significant bits. More often than not, I phrase so tightly that one could shake til it falls to shreds and still not find the hidden treasures within. I’m still digesting that concept…..

One thought on “On My Writing & My Blog

Please feel free to leave your comments.

